About Me

I was born and raised on a tiny island in Alaska and moved to Oregon to attend college and be near family. I have always been drawn to the helping professions and am amazed and intrigued by the human mind and behavior. I graduated from Portland State University in 2007 with a master’s degree in social work. My career began at a residential mental health treatment program, working with children and families. I have been a licensed social worker in the state of Oregon since 2009. My preferred pronouns are she/her/hers.

About my practice

My treatment approach is client-centered and strengths-based. This means that I believe in using strategies that work best for individual clients. I also believe that within each system there are strengths and barriers to learning new ways of handling problems. I believe that, through practice, we can gain new skills and implement them effectively in our lives. I have experience working with children and families as well as individuals who are struggling with issues such as depression, anxiety, trauma, life adjustment issues, mood difficulties, anger, and attention issues.

  • Culturally specific care: LGBTQIA
  • Population specialties: adults and adolescents; individuals who are non-binary or transgender and/or questioning or who are in any stage of transitioning
  • Language capacity: English
  • Areas of focus: gender assessment, collaborative problem solving, cognitive behavioral therapy, and acceptance and commitment therapy

How I thrive

My family is very important to me. I spend as much time as possible with my kids, siblings, friends, and parents. I also enjoy the outdoors and try to stay physically active. Some of my favorite activities are camping, fishing, walking, yoga, snowboarding, paddle boarding, traveling, and taking care of my home.