providers

About Me

I grew up the youngest in my family on the Jersey shore, where my parents settled in the late 1950s to build what became my childhood home. I attended Gettysburg College on a ROTC scholarship and graduated in with a BA degree in biology. I was commissioned in the U.S. Army and served in the Chemical Corps for 18 months prior to attending the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences School of Medicine, where I obtained my medical degree. I completed my family medicine residency at Madigan Army Medical Center while on active duty and served as an Army medical officer for 13 years.

I enjoy teaching and worked as a faculty physician at two residency programs. I am board certified in family medicine and I have been actively practicing medicine since 1992. I value my profession, but I feel especially privileged to be the mother of two terrific daughters.

About my practice

I believe in partnering with patients to help them achieve their optimal health and wellbeing. This requires building a relationship based on mutual respect, trust, sincerity, and good communication. As your primary care physician, I am an integral part of the Kaiser Permanente’s health care team that works closely with you to meet your medical needs and help you achieve your personal wellness goals. I make evaluation and treatment recommendations based on widely accepted scientific evidence and current medical practice guidelines that are tailored to your individual situation.

I am a strong advocate of lifestyle treatment for many common health problems such as high blood pressure, diabetes, obesity, and arthritis. I enjoy caring for infants, children, and adults of all ages, and I have a particular interest in women’s health. I practice a variety of procedures including basic skin procedures, large joint injection, and contraceptive management (IUD and the implant).

How I thrive

I spend my time outside of the office with my two daughters who keep me busy at home and with their various school and social activities. Our 6 pets demand a lot of attention, too. I exercise regularly and enjoy spending time outdoors, although I still haven’t learned to ski! I like decorating, food, and collecting recipes (especially from patients). You may find me at the local coffeehouse, thrift store, or antique shop on the weekend.