About Me

Welcome to my Web page. I am glad to have this opportunity to introduce myself to you and to tell you something about me, which I believe will enrich the physician-member relationship. As a psychiatrist I have been practicing with Kaiser Permanente for the last 10 years. I enjoy my work and the interactions I have with my patients as well as my colleagues on a daily basis.


I am originally from the island of Sri Lanka where I did most of my schooling. I come from a family of physicians including my father and grandfather. Their dedication and service impressed me as a child. I am married and my wife is a teacher. We have two children. I like sports and have played tennis and rugby in the past. I enjoy classical music and theatre.

About my practice

My practice is mostly adult and geriatric psychiatry, but I also see some adolescent patients. I focus mostly on psychopharmacology with minimal psychotherapy. Both offices from which I work have comprehensive treatment teams, which enables me to devote time to hospital consultations a as well as work on addiction medicine cases. There is great understanding and cooperation among the team members, which is an asset to our practice.

How I thrive

I exercise at least three days a week. I use the gym and do 40 minutes of cardio exercises and try to eat a healthy diet (with high fiber, fruits/vegetables, fish etc.). I try to eat more of a vegetarian diet although I don't always manage. I get a good night's rest (seven to eight hours) Socializing with family/friends and attending to your spiritual needs is also vital.