About Me

Welcome to my Web page.


Kaiser Permanente was my first choice for employment after I completed my fellowship training in gastroenterology-hepatology at USC. My decision was made that much easier by having married another gastroenterologist who also works for Kaiser Permanente. I was born in Nairobi, Kenya, the son of two trainee physicians from India. We immigrated to London shortly after I was born, and I lived there until I was 15. My time in high school was spent enjoying the sciences and playing cricket for a club team and enjoying football (soccer). It was the death of my aunt from breast cancer in her early 30s and the positive influence of my parents that motivated me to pursue a career in medicine. After a family vacation to California when I was a teenager, our family fell in love with the area and moved here two years later. I've been here ever since. After college, I worked as a chemist for a few years for an international petroleum engineering company. Soon after my father became ill and passed away from metastatic colon cancer; his death gave me the desire to pursue a career in gastroenterology. I decided then to pursue my medical degree overseas. I realized I needed some distance to be able to pursue my own dreams.

About my practice

Helping prevent colon cancer death is very important to me; however, this is not my sole interest. I practice general gastroenterology and with my extensive training at USC, I also treat many members with various forms of liver disease. Most of the liver disease I see in my current practice is related to fatty liver conditions, which is associated with diet and lifestyle. This is why I feel that healthy living and preventive care are the best ways to stay healthy. I believe in a partnership approach in my relationships with my members, where you and I are both actively involved in taking care of your health.

How I thrive

Being physically active is important to being well mentally, and I believe diet is also an important part of that mental and physical well-being. To stay active, I work out on a regular basis. I enjoy tennis and golf and playing basketball and soccer with my son. Having a balanced diet and eating in moderation are important to our family and being mostly vegetarian helps. When I'm away from work, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends and travelling.