Vegan

Skip Navigation

A vegan is a person who eats only fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, vegetables, and plant products and consumes no animal or dairy products of any kind.

The word vegan on prepared-food labels means that the product doesn't contain any ingredients that come from an animal, including meat, fish, eggs, dairy products, gelatin, and honey.




The Health Encyclopedia contains general health information. Not all treatments or services described are covered benefits for Kaiser Permanente members or offered as services by Kaiser Permanente. For a list of covered benefits, please refer to your Evidence of Coverage or Summary Plan Description. For recommended treatments, please consult with your health care provider.