providers

About Me

Hello, and welcome to my Web page. I am very happy to have this opportunity to introduce myself to you and to tell you about my practice. I feel very fortunate to work at Kaiser Permanente because of my wonderful colleagues and our members.

Biography

I was born in Cairo, Egypt, one of three siblings, and completed all of my undergraduate and medical school education there. I wanted to be a doctor since I was in elementary school. I saw how a physician could impact people's lives and help during their pain and suffering. My wife and I came to the United States in 1984. I completed my general psychiatry residency training in Boston and my fellowship training in child psychiatry in Rhode Island. We moved to California in 1990 when I joined Kaiser Permanente. I am board certified in general psychiatry, child and adolescent psychiatry, and addiction psychiatry.

About my practice

Since 1990 I have been a practicing psychiatrist working with children and adolescents at the Kaiser Permanente Fontana Medical Center. I consider myself privileged to work with an exceptional group of colleagues and a supportive staff. Additionally, I truly enjoy teaching medical students and residents as an assistant clinical professor of psychiatry at Loma Linda University School of Medicine. I chose child psychiatry as a specialty because it allows me to help children who are struggling with emotional and mental difficulties that interfere with their normal function and development, which may block them from achieving their potential and becoming successful, independent adults. I feel very honored that parents have entrusted me with their children's care and strive to treat them as I would my own family.

How I thrive

I firmly believe in Kaiser Permanente’s philosophy of staying healthy in mind, body, and spirit, and I try to apply it to my daily life by keeping a balance between family time, work, community, volunteering, and time for relaxation and personal rejuvenation. I enjoy traveling with my family or going on day trips to the beach or the mountains. I like reading, hiking, playing pool, Ping-Pong, and tennis. I also volunteer in a community mental health clinic once a month to provide psychiatric care for children placed with foster families and in group homes.